Got vegetables and water? Make broth

After buying vegetable broth for let’s see… my entire life, I decided to save a few bucks and some packaging by making my own. I always have vegetables and water, so why not give it a try? 

veggiebroth

Making vegetable broth

  1. Find some vegetables and put them in a large stockpot. 
    Look at the back of your fridge. Veggies that are a little past their prime are good here. Use whatever you have. Use some vegetable pieces that you might normally discard. Things like the center of cauliflower, the thick stems of broccoli, or the tops of leeks. Plan ahead and save your vegetable trimmings in the fridge.
  2. Smash some garlic cloves and add them to the pot.
  3. Add some big onion chunks if you like.
  4. Add salt, pepper, and any fresh herbs that you have on hand. I used parsley and some cilantro.
  5. Fill the pot with water.
  6. Heat the water til it boils, then cover the pot and let the veggies simmer for an hour or so.
  7. Let things cool a bit and then pour your broth through a colander.

That’s it! Pretty simple huh?

Homemade vegetable broth is great because it’s simple, economical, and green. Green? Since vegetables don’t typically come in packages, making vegetable broth saves a package or two. For me, I get excited anytime I can save packaging and money. Also, I love the idea of using something I already have (vegetables) to make something I used to buy (vegetable broth).

In an hour I made a big pot of broth. Not wanting to waste my efforts here’s what I did:

  1. Made matzah ball soup later in the day.
  2. Drank a warm mug of the broth right away.
  3. Filled a jar with broth and popped it in the freezer.
  4. Drank a cold glass of broth the next day. I read about someone doing this every morning. Fountain of youth? Seems like a healthy thing to do, although I can think of tastier cold beverages. 
  5. Added some leftover Korma Simmer Sauce (from Trader Joes) to my broth – yummy lunch.

Do you make your own broth? What veggies do you use? Please leave a Comment.

2 thoughts on “Got vegetables and water? Make broth

  1. I love this idea! I too buy veggie broth, and now I can try this recipe. I bet it would be yummy to make a minestrone out of all this!? Maybe a veggie bean soup?

Leave a Reply

