Removing redundancies

In an effort to simplify my life and create space, I’ve been systematically removing things from my house. Today I focused on a couple drawers in my kitchen. What did I find?Three peelers: One peeler that I never use, another peeler that I use if I can’t find the one I really like, and then there’s the peeler that I use and like (the one with the blade that swivels). So today, two peelers went to goodwill along with a box of other miscellaneous things that I don’t use or don’t need. Having more than I need clutters up my kitchen, my house, and my mind. Are there things that you’re holding onto just in case they’re needed?

In an effort to simplify my life and create space, I’ve been systematically removing things from my house. Today I focused on a couple drawers in my kitchen. What did I find?

Three peelers:

Vegetable or potato peelers

One peeler that I never use,

another peeler that I use if I can’t find the one I really like,

and then there’s the peeler that I use and like (the one with the blade that swivels).

Three! So today, two peelers went to goodwill along with a box of other miscellaneous things that I don’t use or don’t need. I was keeping two peelers just in case they were needed (large peeling party?), when in truth I only need one peeler.

Having more than I need clutters up my kitchen, my house, and my mind.

Are there things that you’re holding onto just in case they’re needed?

If you’re interested in a minimalist kitchen, check out these excellent posts by Jules Clancy of Stone Soup:

Author: Kate

I'm a writer interested in photography, philosophy, bikes and simplicity.

3 thoughts on “Removing redundancies”

  1. RE Peelers: probably most of us can match that. I have kept a peeler in my utensil drawer since forever – but as I read this it occurred to me that I have NEVER used it. I always grab a knife instead. Soo, drop one more peeler into the Good Will box. And while I’m at it, I can store the ladle and the masher in an over-flow bin on the porch. I might use them once a year & nothing else does their job when you want it, but they take up 1/2 the drawer! Ye Gads! I’ve got three colanders. I can only use one at a time.

  2. I see your point but there have been occasions when I cannot find my favourite peeler, or more than one has wanted to peel at once. (sunday lunch veg prep). I guess I have too many wooden spoons, and a cluttered house makes a cluttered mind. Luckily today I have used your principles and got rid of a couple of carriers of books to the charity shop. Now more space for more books. :P

  3. Love it. I can’t go that way because my wife is not of the minimalist inclination but I have long ago collapsed all of my worldly possessions that I value into one 35 litre backpack. I have grown to accept I cannot control the clutter outside my backpack and I just keep that minimalist instead :-)

Leave a Reply

