Being resourceful

Halloween is here again and I must admit that I’m not much of a Halloweener. The recent commercialization of Halloween makes me a little crazy. There are tons of Halloween products and most of them will end up in a landfill. Maybe Halloween products should be renamed “Landfill?” Yes, I’m a Halloween Grinch (and my daughter agrees). That said, my resourceful story for today is about my daughter’s costume. Yesterday my daughter decided to put together her costume. To do this, she retreated to her bedroom and emerged as a hippie.

Halloween is here again and I must admit that I’m not much of a Halloweener. The recent commercialization of Halloween makes me a little crazy. There are tons of Halloween products and most of them are landfill bound. Maybe Halloween products should be renamed “Landfill?” Yes, I’m a Halloween Grinch (and my daughter agrees).

That said, my resourceful story for today is about my daughter’s costume. Yesterday my daughter (the Queen of last-minute efforts) decided to put together her costume. To do this, she retreated to her bedroom and emerged as a hippie.

Her costume was nearly complete. She had plenty of tye die and beads, but nothing with a peace sign. She asked if we could go to the party store, but I wasn’t really hip to this idea. So the wheels in her head started turning and she decided to make a peace necklace out of clay.

Perfect! Just what a true hippie would do. I applauded my daughter for being resourceful (and saving me a trip to the store).

 Happy Halloween!

The non-consumer Halloween

Author: Kate

I'm a writer interested in photography, philosophy, bikes and simplicity.

2 thoughts on “Being resourceful”

Leave a Reply

