Set a mark

After doing triathlons for five years, I didn’t sign up for a triathlon last summer. The result? I didn’t work out much and gained a few pounds around the middle (the muffin top). Without a workout goal my excuses ran rampant, but I did not.

Last week I decided to change things. I signed up for a triathlon in August. Nothing crazy. Just a simple Sprint triathlon with a hilly bike section.

The result? I’ve been swimming and running. No excuses. Now that I have a goal, it’s easy to stay focused. 

Normally, I’m not a huge fan of goals (and organization). I like the flexibility of no goals. But while swimming today, I thought about how specific goals bring results.

Once my nebulous goal of ‘working out’ changed to something concrete, I took action. 

S.M.A.R.T. goals makes things happen: specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely.

So why not set a mark and go for it!

What specific goals do you have? Spending less? Saving more? Make your goals specific and you’ll get results.

6 thoughts on “Set a mark

  1. Hi Kate, great you are really at it. is that you in the pool , I guess so.

    Yes you always were into exercise, and you will enjoy it again. How about the girls do they want to go with you?

    Irene

  2. Hey there Kate. Love the thoughts on goals. Since our third child was born (and final), I need to be in swimsuit wear and so I have also set myself a goal. Even though I am home with the kiddos M-F I am determined to get out of the house and run/walk. I have started to run but am unable when I have 3 kiddos under the age of three strapped to me…on those days I walk. When I have just two(my own), I will run with the double stroller. So far, I have made it work and have lost 6 pounds…still have a lot more to go!

  3. That’s a fabulous goal!! Right now my goal is to get back “on track” with meal planning, housework, making goals, etc… How sad is that!? I do love your goal though!! Good luck!

  4. Love this one. I am actually doing something to help myself, and the S.M.A.R.T is a good thing to keep in mind as I go along. I am working on losing 10-12 lbs, and getting myself back in shape, going to the gym 2-3 days a week. It is tough. If I don’t make it to the gym, I make it to a point that I need to go on a walk around the block, something to stay active daily. Thanks for this read! Definitely very helpful.

Leave a Reply

