It’s raining books

This weekend was wet in Seattle, but my family had an great time relaxing with a few books.

Me: I read Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork. A YA book about a young man with Asbergers who is pushed into the ‘real world.’ The protagonist is curious, compassionate, intellectual and wonderfullly naïve. I enjoyed spending the day inside the mind of someone who sees the world a little differently.

Meanwhile my teenager discovered James Bond books. She devoured Live or Let Die, Dr No, and The Spy Who Loved Me (all by Ian Fleming).

My youngest laughed her way through Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw by Jeff Kinney. This series has helped my nine year old appreciate the teen in our house (as far as teenagers go, she is a good egg). Also, my youngest is happy that her school doesn’t have bullies as in the Wimpy Kid.

Sunday morning we made a quick dash to the library to ‘replenish our supplies.’ If it had been a beautiful sunny weekend we probably wouldn’t have read so much.

Thank you Seattle, for giving us plenty of time to read.

How about you? What did you read this weekend?

(The library is an incredible free resource. Why not use it?) 

52 ways to use your libary card

2 thoughts on “It’s raining books

  1. Yes, I did read bits of Dr. Emmet Miller’s wonderful book: “Deep Healing”. I was on vacation in Ogunquit, Maine for the week and read several pages every day. There is a lot of food for thought; I am taking my time, digesting all of the wonderful information I gleaned from those pages. Wow, Ogunquit was beautiful, spotless and everyone we met was so friendly! In addition, I borrowed it from a library in Ontario, although I live in Québec, thanks to the wonders of inter-library lending.

Leave a Reply

