Empty your library

I was reading Seth Godin’s blog last week and came across an idea that I like:

“Find someone you care about and give away a book that has changed you. Books don’t earn interest unless people are reading them. Ideas that spread, win.”

Like many things in life, books are meant to be enjoyed. Meant to be read. Once you read something great, why not pass it on to someone you know?

“There is no delight in owning anything unshared.” Roman philosopher

I’d like to share a book that kept me up at night. A book that I thought about when I woke up in the morning. A book that I savored ’til the last drop.

The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

This book is about three women who are determined to tell a story that no one has heard before, despite the inherent dangers of telling the story. This book is a real page turner – it’s funny, compelling, thought provoking, and inspirational. It’s simply wonderful.

What book would you like to share?

5 thoughts on “Empty your library

  1. I love the idea of sharing books that have had a powerful impact in my life… there are a lot, actually! The two that immediately come to mind are The Introvert Advantage (don’t remember the author), and Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning.

  2. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll definitely check it out.

    The two books I suggest the most to people are “The Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver and “Your Money or Your Life” by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin.

    I wish I had read YMoYL when I was 10 years old instead of 25, and I wish I was talented enough to write TPB.

  3. I can’t wait until this one comes out in paperback- you’re the second person who has raved to me and I love what it’s about. Thanks for the recommendation.

    CF- I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Poisonwood Bible, it’s one of my all-time favorites. Your Money or Your Life has been on my list for awhile, and I’ve finally bought it so I’ll be reading it soon. Can’t wait.

  4. I followed your advice and sent a book I’d read to a friend. There is something endearing about giving and receiving books that have been read and enjoyed. Good call!

Leave a Reply

