Millions and billions and trillions of glasses

I went to a movie and was handed a plastic bag with 3D glasses. The glasses were nicer than the old cardboard variety, but I was mildly annoyed by the plastic bag. Why are plastic glasses wrapped in plastic?

After the movie, movie-goers can drop the glasses into a cardboard box for recycling. Recycling? Glasses that were worn once are melted down to make new glasses? Seems silly. After my conversation with the theatre staff went nowhere (was I really the first person to ask about the recycling?), I tried the Web.

The Internets revealed that every day some 700,000 Real-D glasses are shipped to a cleaning facility in LA where they’re sanitized, repackaged and shipped back to the theatres (not sure why this is called recycling, but perhaps reusing or washing doesn’t sound sexy?)

Some smaller companies handle the 3D glasses differently. Dolby, for example, has 3D glasses and they suggest that theatre owners buy something called a dishwasher. The glasses are washed onsite and reused. Simple.

I hope that more theatres will install dishwashers (and use compostable food containers).

In the meantime, I took my 3D glasses home to save for my next thrilling 3D experience (no shipping or repackaging needed).

Are 3D movies here to stay?

“There are hundreds of glasses, thousands of glasses, millions and billions and trillions of 3D glasses.”

Maybe I’m old school, but I like regular ol’ 2D. No special glasses required.

[Wiki sayz: Millions of Cats is the oldest American picture book still in print (1926).]

3 thoughts on “Millions and billions and trillions of glasses

  1. I think 3D movies are here to stay – a way to get people in the cinemas again, as DVDs or Blu-Ray on a good TV is an acceptable substitute.
    My mom took the kids to a 3D movie recently and they all brought their glasses home – if they take them next time, they’ll get $1 off the ticket price. Good way of doing it, I think.

  2. I’m also a movie viewer who has no problem watching 2D movies. My friends are all big movie buffs though so now, if we go to see a movie (admittedly, I don’t go out to watch movies often) it *has* to be the 3D version. :(

    Unfortunately, I seem to be one of those people who gets migraines/blurred vision after watching a 3D movie. It’s just not worth it for me to go to a movie, pay extra to see it in 3D and then feel sick for the rest of the evening…if my friends are heading to a 3D movie, I just tell them I’ll meet them another time.

Leave a Reply

