Cheap and healthy foods

I stumbled upon this list today:

The 10 Cheapest, Healthiest Foods Money Can Buy

… and was happy to see some of my favorites:

  • Bananas
  • Beans
  • Canned tomatoes
  • Carrots
  • Frozen spinach
  • Lentils
  • Oatmeal
  • Peanut butter (peanut butter on apple slices is a favorite of mine)
  • Peas
  • Sweet potatoes (I roast these and add them to salads)

What would I add?

  • Eggs
  • Potatoes (jacket potatoes)
  • Quinoa
  • Nuts
  • Hummus
  • Onions – I like to roast veggies and use them in omelets
  • Apples

What are your favorite cheap and healthy foods?

(I also like that many of these foods have little or no packaging)

6 thoughts on “Cheap and healthy foods

  1. The only things I can think to add that I eat fairly regularly that aren’t already on the top ten list or listed among your additions are brown rice and whole wheat pasta. I know regular pasta is cheaper than whole wheat but I’ve managed to pair sales and coupons recently so I’ve stocked up at some really good prices. Pasta dishes tend to be quick and easy (at least the dishes *I* make!) and are often what I resort to when I’m tired and really tempted to just hit a restaurant and let someone else do the cooking.

  2. I was all ready to opine on my love of kale, and Consciously Frugal beat me to it!

    I also love beet greens, turnip greens, mustard greens, and collard greens, along with spinach.

    Grapefruit, and most in-season fruit.

    Bread pudding (I think a peasant dessert).

    Homemade tacos or burritos with cheap, healthy ingredients.

    Chocolate- it’s cheap and healthy if you only eat the recommended square or two of dark chocolate a day.

  3. Lots of my favorites are on that list, too! I especially love cooking up dried beans and lentils. There are so many varieties that it’s easy to make vastly different dishes with them.

  4. Since everyone beat me to kale and all the other wonderful leafy greens, I will add microgreens (sunflower, pea and buckwheat greens) and jar sprouts, such as alfalfa, clover, pink kale, carrot and fenugreek. Ummm! Organic and frugal.

Leave a Reply

