All mixed up

Organizing is what you do before you do something, so that when you do it, it’s not all mixed up.  -Winnie-the-Pooh / A.A. Milne

Spring is coming (yeah!) and with it comes an opportunity to un-mix things. Spring is a time to start fresh, to start anew. So why not take the most mixed-up thing in your home and un-mix it.

You can take a mixed up mess like this:

and start fresh (ctrl+alt+delete). It can be like moving into a new home, but without the hassle of moving.

While organizing this drawer I…

  • Put things where they really belonged (not in this drawer)
  • Got rid of duplicates (I only need one good peeler – not one good one and one crappy one)
  • Took account of what I have
  • Spent time with my daughter who enjoys organizing things

Organizing my silverware drawer took all of 20 minutes, so why didn’t I do this sooner? 

Good question. Ah, I was waiting for inspiration? (she says sheepishly)

What will you un-mix today?

Decluttering drawers: a step-by-step guide

4 thoughts on “All mixed up

  1. I must be a real slob. If your top drawer is messy I sure don’t see it.

    Since I read your blog for not only the pleasure of it, but also for inspiration I am now really ready to clean my messy drawers.

    The bottom one looks like what I wish mine looked like, but I would still settle for the top one.

  2. HA! Thanks for this article! I appreciate the comment about one good peeler and one crappy one! I bet I have 5 different pizza cutters (of varying quality) in my kitchen drawer!

    Also, there is the “utility drawer” in almost every kitchen I have ever been in that was filled to the top with the most randow misc. crap possible!

    I’ve actually got two utility drawers in my kitchen (I must be high class!!) and they both are in desperate need of an overhaul!

Leave a Reply

