Green police

My daughter watched the Super Bowl this year and I missed it (aw shucks). When she returned home I asked her which commercial was her favorite. Her response?

The Green Police Ad:

My daughter thought the Green Police ad was clever. What if disposable products were illegal? Is it absurd or a possibility? Does the ad help or hurt green initiatives?

Is the ad effective? 

After saying the ad was clever, my daughter added “I wanted the car for a second.”

Oh no! The ad was very effective. We don’t need a car, not to mention my daughter can’t drive. Still, she wanted the car for a second.

Ah, the power of advertising. This is why companies pay millions of dollars for 30 seconds.

What do you think? Does the ad help green initiatives, hurt them, or just help sell cars?

9 thoughts on “Green police

  1. I’m not liking this ad at all. At least where I live (northeast Texas) this ad will probably feed all the paranoia about the ecology movement “forcing us” to “give up” our wasteful ways, which are our natural right!

    True story: at a local grocery which gives a nickel off for bringing your own bags, I sacked my groceries into my cloth bags, directly across from a woman who watched me. In the parking lot she walked up and said, “That makes me so mad!” In surprise I said, “What does?” “That makes me furious that they wouldn’t give you bags, that you had to bring your own!” “Ma’am, you don’t understand, this is what I WANTED to do.” “I don’t care; it makes me furious!” — And she turned on her heel and stomped off.

    That is not the isolated opinion of a single misguided female, I’m afraid. A Green Police ad is one of the worst things I can think of.

  2. That’s funny, Me, my husband & my kids found the commercial to be hillarious. But we somehow forgot that it was a car commercial, I had to just watch it again. We recycle and it made us laugh because we can see our neighbors watching the commercial & saying how it reminds them of us.

  3. I have to agree with Carla in that this will probably validate some folks’ irritation with the green movement. Even though it is quite humorous, there are so many folks who feel that eco-friendly living is an assault on their right to live freely.

    But what actually irks me is that there is such a thing as a “green car.” It’s an oxymoron. The advertising industry has been brilliant at exploiting the good intentions of consumers. You can’t have a “green” car. It’s an oxymoron. We can buy less harmful cars (the jury is still out though, given some of the evidence in what it takes to produce hybrids, etc.), but that isn’t the same as green. Green=good. Since when does “less harmful” for the environment equate GOOD for the environment? Good for the environment is walking or biking. Less harmful, using public transportation. Outside of that, it’s low-emission cars, but new studies are showing that folks end up driving those cars more, thus negating the benefit.

    I suppose that’s the crux of my little ranting novel here–the ad points out some positives of the green movement (don’t dump batteries in your trash, etc.) but it sells a lie. Cars are not green. (dangit!)

    • The ‘green car’ in the ad claims to get 42 mpg. How is this any greener than my five year old Prius, which claims to get 60 – but really gets 44-49 mpg? I agree – cars running on non-renewable resources are not green.

  4. I liked the ad but I do think that other commenters made good points. While driving cars is not a green choice, a majority of people live in places that require that they drive cars.

    Both of my parents actually drive VW TDI’s and they do get about 50mpg (mostly highway driving). While they must do a lot of driving to live wear they do, they can live off their garden in the summer, shot deer for meat, hang their clothes outside to dry, and raise their own chickens/eggs. Yes, driving is not “green” but we can’t look at everything as black and white.

    Also, I don’t think the ad is aimed at people who already drive “green” cars – it’s aimed at people who do need a new car and can make a more responsible decision.

Leave a Reply

