Less paper, more trees

Since starting my new job last April, I haven’t printed anything.

Everything I do is digital. I write, edit, and publish words online using my computer. Everything I need is in one place: on my beloved laptop. I love the simplicity of a paperless office.

Here are a few paper saving tips:

  • Print or write on both sides of the paper. Save old printouts for reprinting or note taking. 
  • Before you click print, stop what you’re doing, drop to the floor and roll. While rolling, think do I really need to print this? 
  • If while rolling on the floor you decide you really need to print, use print preview so there are no surprises. 
  • Print just what you need and not the whole caboodle. Every page you don’t print counts.
  • Take notes online with software like Evernote or OneNote.
  • Go digital. Books, magazines, and newspapers are available online.
  • Find something you want to read later? Bookmark it, add the page to your Favorites, or use Evernote.
  • Buy recycled paper. Buying recycled products helps create a market for recycled paper.

If you follow these tips you’ll save money and trees.  

How about you? How little can you print?

5 thoughts on “Less paper, more trees

  1. The stop, drop and roll bit is hilarious! ha!

    Unfortunately, I work in an office that is paper mad. I’ll send hunky files for review and folks here will print them out (why?!?!). I can’t get them to change their ways, despite the death o’ trees. Oy.

  2. Paper mad? Where do you work? Dunder Mifflin? :)
    I occasionally come across a ‘print happy’ coworker who likes to shuffle paper, but they’re in the minority. I think the digital switch has made for a less cluttered workplace (no paper to muck things up). Ah…..

    • The link you posted is content created by a paper company (International Paper), so I don’t think the information is unbiased.
      How about if I just consume what I really need? (which is very little paper)

  3. I like the stop, drop and roll too. I am proud to say that my printer is still on the trial ink cartridge that it came with when I bought it over a year ago. (This is at home, not work- though I don’t print excessively there either). Anyhoo, just wanted to say that I use snipi.com to save ideas and things for later.

Leave a Reply

