Glazed nuts

One of my favorite salads includes candied nuts, fruit and bleu or goat cheese. I’ve been buying glazed nuts, but no more.

Sorry Emerald, but these nuts are:

a. Overly sweet (corn syrup anyone?)
b. Not so nutty, more like sugar blobs 
c. Kind of expensive

Time for a change. Glazed nuts can’t be that hard to make. Right? I got the following recipe from my Mom, who used to make spiced walnuts during the holidays.

Spiced Nuts

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 T water
3 cups of nuts

To be honest I don’t measure spices; I eyeball. I did, however, measure the water and the sugar. You can change the spices to whatever you’d like. Here’s the step-by-step:

  1. Bring the ingredients to a boil (minus the nuts)
  2. Remove from heat
  3. Stir in the nuts

The whole process takes ten minutes AND I can tell you that these nuts are much tastier. They taste like nuts (and sugar). Here they are sprawled out on wax paper.

Making my own glazed nuts allows me to make them just how I like (tastier) and save a few bucks. It’s a win-win situation.

Perfecto!

How about you? What do you like to make instead of buy?

5 thoughts on “Glazed nuts

  1. I make my own soup stock—it means I use every bit of a bird carcass and vegetable bits (like the deep green part of the leek) that I would otherwise throw away. I know the amount of salt, too.

  2. I like to make teriyaki sauce, bbq sauce, and soup stocks from scratch. I have a recipe for cream of mushroom soup I’m looking forward to trying rather than using that salty canned stuff for pot roasts and casseroles. Thanks for the glazed nuts recipe- I’m going to give it a try this weekend. Have a great one!

  3. My husband and I make our own pasta and pizza dough. Fresh, homemade pasta is so much better than store bought! And it’s a fun project to do as a team. We stay in on Friday nights and cook together instead of spending loads of money eating out. It’s great! And thanks for the glazed nuts recipe. I’ll have to give it a go – they look delicious!

Leave a Reply

