Move more, eat less, document progress

New Years is a great time to press CTRL+ALT+DELETE and start anew. It doesn’t matter if you’ve crashed in the past, just reboot and start fresh. Millions of Americans are starting new diet and exercise plans today, including me.

Here’s my plan:

  1. Move more  Nothing big or especially crazy at first, just movement every day. And no Kate, typing doesn’t count. My movement plan is yoga, swimming, or walking each day. I picked these activities because they’re joint friendly (I’m saving myself for my once a week indoor soccer game followed by Aleve).    
  2. Eat less  The secret to losing weight isn’t really a secret. To lose weight you need to burn more calories than you consume. Simple. So why is it so difficult? <insert excuses here>. My plan is to drink more water, enjoy smaller portions, and eat whole foods as much as possible.
  3. Document progress  Accountability is king. An exercise and eating log will help me stay on track and see my progress.

I’m steering clear of goals like must lose five pounds. Instead, success for me is exercising each day and eating whole foods.

Kaizen is the Japanese principle that focuses on continuous improvement. It doesn’t matter where you’re at, it’s the improvement that matters. Ah good! I will embrace my winter muffin top and begin my Muffin Top Reduction Program (MTRP) – aka “move more, eat less, document progress.”

How about you? What are your strategies for eating less and moving more?

Leo Babauta has created a new Web site to help people create new habits – check out 6changes.com.

6 thoughts on “Move more, eat less, document progress

  1. Hi there! I’ve just started reading your blog and find it helpful and interesting- I’m very happy to have come across it! As for eating less- I try using a smaller plate and chew slowly. And for moving more- here’s something silly I do: When I fold laundry I don’t sit down to do it, I put each item away as I fold it, one at a time. Sometimes it feels like a waste of time, but I do like the fact that I’m in constant motion and I get to interact with the rest of my family throughout the house. I certainly don’t break a sweat, but at least I’m moving!

  2. Great resolution. I really need to lose weight. I put on an extra 60 lbs as a stay at home mom. I loved being with my kids, but I was an isolated suburban mom married to an immature, work-a-holic husband. My husband has since become more mature, is working less and I have returned to work full time, but that weight which I gained from 1991 to 1994 is still there. I have lost and gained back at least 70 lbs over the years and this really, really shames and frustrated me. I am a health professional and I know much better, and I should be the picture of health. I eat organic foods, and have during the past 26 years. I over eat as a way of dealing with stress, frustration, anger to celebrate, food is my drug. I have decided to do the Eat to Live program which is comprised of limitless veggies and fruit, limitless beans and one cup of good carbs per day. Plus a bit of good quality fat. Once you have reached your healthy weight you are allowed 15o calories per day of your choice of food (meat, dairy, chocolate, cookies) etc. I will follow the program five days a week. Fridays and Saturdays will be off days, because I want to keep eating out once a week with my hubby and I want to entertain without imposing my diet to our guests. Of course, I will make healthy choices, but cannot give up wine entirely (just those two days). I have always walked on a daily basis, and will keep that up, and am considering getting a gym membership for this year to cancel the calories I will be consuming on Friday’s and Saturday’s. I am hoping I will be able to commit to this plan, and that it will become a lifestyle, as opposed to a diet.

    Good luck with your plan and please keep us posted on your results.

  3. It’s that time of year, isn’t it? Congratulations on your new resolve, Kate, and may it go splendidly for you!

    I started eating better last Fall and am about 10 pounds lighter for it. And very pleased. Marie-Josée, I never heard of Eat to Live but that is fairly close to what I’ve been doing. I do eat meat occasionally but make my servings quite small. This is not the first time I’ve eaten vegetarian (or nearly so) and I am always happy to realize that merely eating a lot of veggies and fruits and whole grains seriously cuts my junk food cravings.

    I have also allowed myself one bite-sized piece of dark chocolate a day. If I eat it very slowly, just a tiny nibble at a time, I can make it last up to 30 minutes, if I put it down and do something else between those tiny nibbles.

  4. I lost 50lbs last year and honestly, my biggest ‘tips’ are to eat whole & natural foods as much as possible (avoid processded foods), drink lots of water, do some exercise daily, (no soaps & bonbons! lol!) and don’t eat after 7pm at night. Not eating at night is the biggest one for me, definitely helps keep my weight down! :)

    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

