Did I ever tell you how lucky you are?

Fall is here and with it comes heavy rain, shorter days, the need for socks and an extra cup of coffee (or two). This fall I’m thankful for many things. With the current economic malaise, I’m especially thankful for a job that I love when so many people are unemployed or underemployed. This week I stumbled upon a Dr. Seuss classic: “Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?”. Dr Seuss quote: “Just tell yourself, Duckie, you’re really quite lucky!” For me, being frugal is about enjoying what I have instead of wanting more. When I think about all that I have in my life, I realize that I am so very lucky.

Fall is here and with it comes heavy rain, shorter days, the need for socks and an extra cup of coffee (or two).

didievertellyou

This fall I’m thankful for many things. With the current economic malaise, I’m especially thankful for a job that I love when so many people are unemployed or underemployed. This week I stumbled upon a Dr. Seuss classic: “Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?” Here’s some Dr. Seuss wisdom:

“Thank goodness for all of the things you are not!
Thank goodness you’re not something someone forgot,
and left all alone in some punkerish place
like a rusty tin coat hanger hanging in space.”

Punkerish place? Yes, thank goodness for all the things I am not.

And then there’s the famous Duckie quote:

“When you think things are bad, when you feel sour and blue,
when you start to get mad… You should do what I do!
Just tell yourself, Duckie, you’re really quite lucky!”

What does this have to do with frugality?

Everything. For me, frugality is about enjoying what I have instead of wanting more. When I think about all that I have in my life, I realize that I am so very lucky.

I don’t need anything more than I already have.

How about you? Do you feel lucky?

Author: Kate

I'm a writer interested in photography, philosophy, bikes and simplicity.

2 thoughts on “Did I ever tell you how lucky you are?”

  1. Great post, Kate! I feel the same.

    And thanks for the reminder on the Dr. Seuss- I’m going to look for that one for my friend’s boy- he LOVES Dr. Seuss. That’s how I learned to read, and Seuss probably formed my worldview. Lucky me.

Leave a Reply

