Swapping books in your jammies

Lately, I’ve been swapping old books for new books without leaving my home. I started using PaperBack Swap last month and so far I’m enjoying it immensely. I like the idea of swapping what you don’t want for what you do.

paperbackswap

How does PaperBack Swap work? First you locate a stack of books that you don’t plan on reading or rereading. Next, log in to PaperBackSwap.com and post your unwanted books for others to consider. You earn 2 credits when you post your first ten books.

Credits are the currency of PaperBack Swap; you use credits to acquire/request books. You earn a credit each time you mail a book, and it costs you a credit when you request a book. Lightweight books can be easily mailed from home without a trip to the post office, enabling you to send and receive books in your jammies (if you so desire).

While I’m enjoying the service, I’ve been disappointed several times when the book I wanted wasn’t listed on the service. Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life was one such book. I was, however, ecstatic to find Animal, Vegetable, Miracle available for download through my local library using OverDrive.  I downloaded the audio book and was listening to it in minutes (for free). Wow!

To see if audio book downloads are available through your local library, check OverDrive’s library list or your library’s web site.

Have you read anything good lately? Please leave your book recommendations in a Comment.

6 thoughts on “Swapping books in your jammies

  1. Thanks for mentioning that you don’t have to leave the house for the paperback book swap- that’s what’s kept me from doing it. I don’t think it’s worth the trip to the post office/postage.

    I assume you know the postage rate ahead of time and just purchase several stamps in that amount? How much is it for one small paperback?

    That’s a great tip for the audio download as well. One of my favorite books of all time is Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible and I also listened to it on audio and it was great. I’ve read all her books except Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, which is on my list.

    I’ve read a lot of great short stories lately from collections. As far as novels, if you’re a Jane Austen fan, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is hilarious. A really good writer is Julia Glass, I enjoyed her novel Three Junes very much. And I read two very different but equally entertaining memoirs recently- A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel and Bill Bryson’s Thunderbolt Kid. It’s actually not my favorite of his, but has some great Americana from the 50s and 60s – toys, food, recreation, attitudes, etc. that are really funny.

  2. I’m sending out a paperback tomorrow and the postage cost is $1.90. Based on the ISBN number PaperBack Swap tells you the postage you need. You can even purchase postage through them (it prints on paper), for 40 cents or something.

    I haven’t read Poisonwood Bible, but it’s on my list to read. I’ll add Three Junes to my list as well. Thanks! It’s funny that I’ve read Zippy and Thunderbolt Kid and enjoyed them both. I loved learning about growing up in the 50’s – I’m a big Bill Bryson fan (love his humor).

    I just finished reading “Sleeping Naked Is Green: How an Eco-Cynic Unplugged Her Fridge, Sold Her Car, and Found Love in 366 Days” by Vanessa Farquharson.

    And now I’m reading “Mindless Eating: Why We Eat More Than We Think” by Brian Wansink.

  3. I’ve looked into several of these types of programs, but have yet to venture into it. I didn’t even think about the weight aspect of paperbacks (dur..). Good suggestion!

    I’m currently re-reading “Your Money or Your Life.” Sometimes I wonder if I shouldn’t look into some bulk buying program, since I seem to buy it so frequently for friends and whenever I loan my copy out, it disappears!

  4. I love to read, and usually find that the library meets my needs. But I often find myself maxing out the number of renewals because I want to keep a particular book on hand. Paperback swap might solve my problem! And knowing that some of my beloved books (that I won’t get rid of but know I won’t read again) are going to a good home sounds like another great plus!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

