Food Waste: Game on!

Kristen from The Frugal Girl is back from vacation and Food Waste Friday is back on again. Game on! (Wayne’s World voices) It’s time for me to see what I wasted this week.

foodwaste17
Extreme Close-up

I wasted a bounty of broccoli and a red pepper that looks alright, but tasted mold-like (bleech – you know ‘that grossed out feeling, like you have slugs in your mouth’).

Why account for food waste? Americans typically waste 25% to 35% of the food they purchase, and I’m trying to be atypical (I’m a classic middle child). Documenting my weekly food waste, helps with my tendency to overbuy and forget about food at the back of my fridge.

While writing about slimy cucumbers this week I pondered the temperature of my fridge. My fridge was set to 38 degrees, which most web sites say is safe and appropriate. However, most sites suggest you can go as high as 40 or 41.

Setting your refrigerator between 37°F and 40°F will keep your food stored at a safe temperature without wasting energy. The optimal temperature for your freezer is 0-5°F.

So I changed my fridge temperature to 41. My freezer which was set to -4°, is now set to 2°F.

These small changes may not deter food waste, but should have an impact on my energy consumption.

Have a food waste reduction (FWR) tip? Leave your wisdom in a comment.

One thought on “Food Waste: Game on!

  1. Ewwwww, you’ve put me off my breakfast – I know exactly that taste!

    Yuck; definitely time for the compost bin when it gets to that stage. What a shame though, I love broccoli!

Leave a Reply

