The cost of complaining

I’ve been exchanging my old books for new books using PaperbackSwap. I’m reading a book from the ‘40 modern non-fiction books everyone should read‘ list by Marc and Angel Hack Life (practical tips for productive living blog).  

 secretsofmind

Secrets of the Millionaire Mind by T. Harv Eker

This book examines the mindset required to make money and achieve your goals. Early in the book one point caught my eye.

Complaining is the worst thing you can do for the health of your wealth.

And here I thought over spending was the worst thing. Silly me. The idea here is, when you complain you attract ‘crap’ into your life. This idea follows the law of attraction principle which some people may disregard as woo-woo, but I think that positive things happen to positive people. And if not, positive people help make the world a better place; better to be positive than negative.

Try this out for yourself. Eker suggests going a week without any complaining, blaming or justifying (verbally or non-verbally, aka your thoughts). Try this out in all areas of your life, including the sometimes tumultuous work part.

See the positive side of everything you encounter. Then see how you feel at the end of the week.

You attract what you focus on. So why not keep it positive?

3 thoughts on “The cost of complaining

  1. Hi Kate!

    I particularly liked this post. I’ve been attempting to stay conscious of my actions, specifically revolving around gossip, foul language and general negativity. They’re simple ways that I’d like to improve myself and be an even more pleasant person to be around. The idea of attracting what you are/do is so true. I don’t want gossip or excessive foul language, so I need to straighten up and make it happen myself first. Glad you see it the same way :)

Leave a Reply

