Cold brewed iced coffee

This year summer started in Seattle before July 5, leaving Seattleites joyful and a little befuddled. Coffee is a staple of Seattle, along with rain, moss, and socks with sandals. When the temperature creeps above 78, my coffee sports ice.

icedcoffee

I’ve been making iced coffee for years and just tried something new. I made cold-brewed coffee. Yes, apparently hot water is not needed to brew a good cup of joe. I brewed up some coffee in my fridge. Overnight. In cold water.

I got the idea from Lifehacker, but a post by Rachel Meeks at Small Notebook inspired me to take action. (Thanks Rachel!) 

Rachel’s cold-brewed coffee recipe

  1. The night before, add 1/4 cup coarse ground coffee and 1 cup cold water to your container. I made mine in a French press, but you could use a glass jar.
  2. The next morning add 1 more cup of water.
  3. Strain and pour the coffee over ice.

I add a generous amount of milk and a touch of sugar. That’s it.

With a little night-before planning you can be drinking iced coffee in minutes, without any fuss or a trip to a coffee shop. That is, if you like iced-coffee.

What’s your favorite way to enjoy coffee? Please leave a comment.

Possibly related link: Frappuccino alternatives

One thought on “Cold brewed iced coffee

Leave a Reply

