The miracle of baking soda

I had just nestled into my bed with my Kindle on a lazy Sunday afternoon. I started reading an article from the Chicago Tribune: A baking soda miracle by Supriya Doshi

Supriya wrote about her experience cleaning a stove top. I read – “you know, the brown stuff that develops after pasta boils over?” And I thought yeah, I know that brown stuff. Supriya described how she’d used miraculous baking soda to remove the brown stuff. Brilliant!

I instantly left my reading lair and went downstairs to work on my stove. I’m a little embarrassed to show you the before picture, but it makes for a dramatic comparison. Anything for the blog, right? Wink.

 beforebakingsoda

Yes, I know that brown stuff. I put on This American Life, grabbed my baking soda, added water and scrubbed. And scrubbed. I spent 15-20 minutes on this project, and found it oddly rewarding and meditative. My mind was captivated by the stories of This American Life, while I mindlessly scrubbed. I didn’t worry about the stove top getting scratched. I didn’t worry about what chemicals were in the cleaner. And it was all at no cost, since I already had the baking soda. My results:

afterbakingsoda

Much better! My alliance to commercial cleaners is fading fast. I don’t need a special cleaner to clean my stove top. Baking soda works brilliantly. 

Why did I buy commercial cleaners in the past? Marketing. Packaging. Advertising. Convenience. I fell for all these traps. Now, I’d like to try a few homebrew recipes from the web. Why do such a silly thing? My motivations are non-toxic ingredients and less packaging.

What’s your favorite natural or homemade cleaner? Please leave a Comment.

Sixty uses of baking soda
*To clean more of the dirt, chemical residues, and waxes from fruits and vegetables, use baking soda.

3 thoughts on “The miracle of baking soda

  1. Baking soda is awesome. Cleans up really messy non-nonstick pans, too. My other favorite cleaner? Vinegar. Cleans glass better than Windex, and makes hard wood floors shine.

  2. Looks great- woo hoo!

    I’m never buying any chemical cleaners again. I’m having trouble even using up what we have. I keep thinking I’ll always need the Clorox, but after seeing your baking soda results, I may be wrong about that. Would it work on toilets?

    The other thing I’ve heard about that people really like is Borax.

    I’m going to do “giving up all commercial cleaning products” as a baby-steps challenge on my blog later this summer (although I’m already doing it halfway). For next month, composting!

Leave a Reply

