Not like the others

My parents visited me a few weeks ago and we celebrated my Dad’s 73rd birthday. Before their visit I took stock of what needed fixing around my house. You see, my parents are doers and they show their love by helping.

During their visit my Dad fixed numerous things, but one thing stands out for me. A light switch.

My kids’ bathroom had a broken light switch. Being a single parent and living in an expensive area (aka Seattle), my family has learned that things don’t get fixed quickly. Instead, we work around things until I fix something or find a cheap repair option. (Besides, the longer you wait before repairing something, the sweeter the repair).

I had wanted to fix the switch, but common sense told me to wait until a Y chromosome was in the house. And no, I didn’t think to employ my daughter with this fixit job. Not this time.

Instead, my Dad came to the rescue. He took apart the switch and made numerous trips to hardware stores. Home Depot and Lowes didn’t carry the same light switch, so the color and functionality wouldn’t match. He thought this might be a deal breaker for me, so he asked me what I wanted to do. I considered my options: a working switch that’s not quite like the others or a broken switch that’s, well… broken. I chose the working switch and my Dad installed it for me.

lightswitch
New switch is on the left

Sure the switch is a different color and it doesn’t function like the one to the right. My old switches require a double click action which most guests can’t figure out, so the new switch is better in that regard. But that’s not why I like the switch. I like the new switch because it’s a visual reminder of my Dad’s desire to help me. When I use the switch I smile and think of him.

Throughout my life my Dad has always been willing to help me. My Dad is a calm, sweet man, who would do anything for anyone in need (especially his family). Dad: thank you for helping me throughout my life and teaching me the values and morals that I hold today. I love you.

Happy Father’s Day.

3 thoughts on “Not like the others

  1. Great story! Grandpa told me he was going to fix your sink water pressure too, but it was hard to get to? He’s great. I too have an awesome Dad! I guess the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.

  2. Hi Kate. a lovely tribute to your Dad, in fact I sent it on to him, but I am sure you sent it to him. Good Blogs Kate.
    Irene

  3. It seems to be a DAD thing. When my dad would come from CO and visit us in AZ , he always wanted to work on our vehicles or install something or fix something. My husband just had to swallow his pride and leave something for Dad to do.

Leave a Reply

