CRS and life lessons

It’s happened three times now. I’ve started watching a movie and it seems familiar. A little too familiar. I can predict the next scene, but I don’t remember the ending. I’ve seen the movie before, but forgotten the details. Something on the movie box was so intriguing that I picked out the movie twice. And so, I enjoy the movie a second time.

My sister calls this memory phenomena CRS or ‘can’t remember sh*t.’ The thing is I can remember things, just not always what I want. I remember the name Susan Boyle despite not watching tv. I know the name of a game show contestant in the UK, but I sometimes forget people’s names five minutes after meeting them. Oh well, I think I’ll focus on the positive – as I get older, I get the opportunity to enjoy movies a second time. 

With age comes great wisdom (or so I’ve been told), so I’ve included 30 life lessons to celebrate getting older from Janice Hunter’s excellent blog called Sharing the Journey. I edited the original list to what resonated most for me.

  1. Life isn’t fair, but it’s still good. Actually, it’s Gr-r-reat! (Tony the Tiger voice)
  2. You can change any aspect of your life, one small step at a time. Kaizen – a philosophy of continuous improvement.
  3. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.
  4. Your job won’t take care of you when you’re sick. Your friends and family will. Make connections and stay in touch.
  5. Pay off your credit cards every month and live well below your means.
  6. You don’t need to win every argument. You can agree to disagree.
  7. Cry with someone. It’s more healing than crying alone.
  8. Be present to the world around you. Eat healthy, laugh often, and love much.
  9. Make peace with your past and leave it in the past, so that it won’t screw up the present or your future.
  10. Don’t compare yourself to others. You’ll be happier if you don’t.
  11. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind. Practice yoga. It calms the mind and body.
  12. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful or joyful.
  13. Whatever doesn’t kill you, will make you stronger.
  14. It’s never too late to have a happy childhood. But the second one is up to you and no one else.
  15. When it comes to going after what you love in life, don’t take no for an answer.
  16. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.
  17. Over prepare, then go with the flow.
  18. Be eccentric now. Don’t wait for old age to wear purple.
  19. The most important sex organ is the brain.
  20. You’re in charge of your happiness, not anyone else.
  21. Frame every so-called disaster with these words ‘In five years, will this matter?’ Don’t sweat the small stuff.
  22. Forgive everyone and everything.
  23. What other people think of you doesn’t matter.
  24. Time heals almost everything. Give it time.
  25. Your children get only one childhood.
  26. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere.
  27. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.
  28. Live the life you want today, instead of putting it off until someday.
  29. Believe in miracles.
  30. Accept yourself and the aging process – enjoy movies a second time.

Which life lessons resonate with you? Want to add one? Please leave a Comment.

“Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk.”  ~Doug Larson

2 thoughts on “CRS and life lessons

  1. Some very good advise and thanks for it , if we were to follow all the instructions given life would be somewhat easy .

  2. Thanks for the lovely comment! (I’m just discovering the the joys of pings!) I wish I knew who’d started this forward in the first place; I got it in an email from a friend who’d been sent it by another friend when she turned 45. I love how every one of the life lessons just makes me say “Exactly!” to myself as I read them. Love the Doug Larson quote. It could have been written for me as I talk far too much – but I suppose I must have shut up at some point!

    Thanks again! ~ janice

Leave a Reply

