Granola recipe: Simple and amazing

naturevalley

I love granola. I started with Nature Valley granola bars as a kid, and graduated to boutique granola that costs a small fortune. Well, no more expensive granola for me. I made an inexpensive granola last week and it tasted amazing. Like most things, homemade granola is light years better than store bought. I’m done buying granola.

Making granola lets me make it just how I like. I can control the sweetness and the ingredients. And it’s super easy to make. Making granola is not rocket science. Who knew?

I found Melinda’s Homemade Granola Recipe at Slashfood and made a few modifications.

Kate’s Oats ‘N Honey Granola Recipe

2 cups rolled oats (not instant)
1 cup raw almonds cut as fine as you’d like
3/4 cup orange flavored cranberries
3/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup cooking oil – I used safflower oil once and olive oil another time
1/2 cup honey

  1. In a large mixing bowl, add 1 cup chopped nuts and 2 cups of oats (don’t add the fruit just yet).
  2. Add 1/4 cup of cooking oil (I used safflower).
  3. Add 1/2 cup of honey.
  4. Stir until everything is coated with a sticky goo and pour in to a baking pan. 
  5. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring the mixture every 10 minutes. After 30 minutes, it should be a nice golden brown.
  6. granolabefore
    Granola before baking
  7. Return the baked granola, the oats and nuts, to your mixing bowl and add your dried fruit. 
  8. Stir it all together and that’s it!
  9. granolaafter
    The final product

Try some granola warm, right out of the oven. It’s simply amazing. Once the granola has cooled, store it in an air tight container and nibble away. Granola is great straight up, with milk, or on top of yogurt. This granola was a big hit with my non-granola eating kids and my book club.

Variations that I tried and liked: shredded coconut, dried banana chips (chopped), dried blueberries, and currants. Next up, I want to try adding raw seeds and different nuts.

This recipe uses honey, but I’ve seen granola recipes that use maple syrup or a combination of the two. Experiment and see what you like.  

For those hot days when turning on the oven seems outrageous, Leigh Meyer at compact by design has a couple oven alternatives: crockpot and microwave granola recipes.

What’s your favorite granola ingredient or recipe? Please share with a Comment.

7 thoughts on “Granola recipe: Simple and amazing

  1. I recently tried a granola recipe from Jill at Mindfully Simple that’s very near the one you list. I was making a trip to the grocery store that carried the granola I like, and paying 7.50 for that little bag, when I thought to myself, “I’ve got to get online and get a recipe for granola.”

    That night I saw a recipe on her blog without even searching, and I made adjustments based on what I like. It took about five minutes to mix, smelled delicious while baking, and I had to make a second batch less than a week later because my husband had eaten most of the first! And he never eats granola.

    My favorite additions are dried cranberries, chopped up dried apricots, almonds, and spices- cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg.

  2. > I had to make a second batch less than a week later because my husband had eaten most of the first!

    Yes, I’ve made 3 batches in 2 weeks time. So tasty!

  3. Kate, thanks for the referral! I am still trying new recipes to find the perfect one. I think my next batch will be an oven cooked one just to see the difference. I will probably end up with several favorites depending on what I feel like at the time.

    I will say for any recipe, I add the dried cranberries into my crock pot for the last 20-30 minutes because I love the extra chew it gives them.

  4. Kate, this sounds delicious! I eat granola every day in a cup of yogurt for breakfast. I’ve been buying it from the bulk bins at PCC (the local co-op market) for fewer additives and a better price than packaged, but I had never considered making it myself.

    I have all the ingredients on hand, so tomorrow I’m having homemade granola for breakfast. Thanks!

  5. Your granola looks great! I usually make granola bars, but I think I need to add this to the morning line up. I could make the basic recipe and then let each child add what they want to it.

    When I make granola bars I use brown rice syrup for the sweetener because it has a milder flavor; I wonder how it would work in this recipe?

    My favorite additions are pecans and cranberries.

  6. I really must get around to having a go at this. It sounds delicious and a very straight forward recipe. I think I will substitute the cranberries as they are a bit difficult to get hold of here. I’m thinking apricots would be nice or dates for a sweet treat.

    Thank you for sharing your idea!

Leave a Reply

