Read aloud: Create an audio book for someone

warriorsbook

My daughters love a book series called Warriors by Erin Hunter. There are 18 some books in the Warriors series, but only 3 are available as audio books. Problem: My youngest wants to listen to all the Warriors books. Solution?

My daughter asked me to make an audio book for her. Clever idea! I love to read children’s books. Reading a Warriors book out loud takes time, so to speed up the process I thought to employ my older daughter.

My older daughter loved the idea and got right to work, reading and recording the first 4 chapters. I told her that I could read a few chapters, but she turned me down. My older daughter thought the book would be best read by a ‘true Warriors fan,’ so I stepped aside. 

In the end everything worked out perfectly. My oldest created an audio book for my youngest. She practiced her read aloud skills, while creating something special for her sister. My youngest happily listened to a Warriors book read to her by her sister, who is a ‘true Warriors fan’. What could be better? I love when life deals you a win/win situation.

Is there a book you’d like to share with someone special? All you need is a microphone, a computer, blank CDs, and time to read. Record your children’s favorites so they can play them while you’re away, or even when you’re not. Children love hearing stories again and again. Short on time? Have your oldest make a recording for your younger children.

microphone1

Technical details

My daughter used the microphone included with Rock Band 2 – you can plug the USB connector into a computer. She recorded her voice using Sound Recorder (included with Windows), making each chapter a separate recording/track. Once she had about 75 minutes of recordings (WMA files), she made a playlist in Windows Media Player and burned the playlist to a CD. That’s it! 

No microphone? The Logitech USB Desktop Microphone is inexpensive ($20) and has good reviews on Amazon. CNET product review: easy to set up, small footprint, good sound quality for the price.

Here are some sites with free audio books:

Free classic audio books
Project Gutenberg audio books 
Librivox 

Want to learn more about the Warriors books? Click here.

Have a frugal gift idea? Please leave a Comment.

8 thoughts on “Read aloud: Create an audio book for someone

  1. I stumbled across your blog from The Simple Dollar and want to say what a neat idea this is for your daughter to do this for a younger sibling.
    I used to do this for my kids when they were small, only it was back in the days of cassette tapes. They loved them and would listen to them in the car on long trips.

  2. I am on the other side of the story, I am legally blind and would love to find someone to read a book onto a C D for me. I have no idea where to go, or who to contact for this tremendous task, labor of love as someone so aptly put it. My book is 275 pages long, entitled `What the Bible Says About Parenting’,by John MacArthur. If you have any helpful suggestions or answers for me please contact me via my E-mail.

  3. thanks for your tips on audiobook. Your daughter is super smart. My website was created under WordPress as well. I just need to find out how to get people to the blog. jesushealshurts.com Some are special needs, so they are unable to blog. I suppose I’ll have to get tips from someone or I’ll have to get a new webpage designer. Let me know if you have any tips. I’m frugal as well because I am a grandmother raising my two grandchildren. It’s helpful to be frugal in this day and age. God bless, Holly

  4. Thanks for sharing the technicalities of this project! I’ve been wanting to create a listening center for my students to listen to read alongs, but don’t have the money to buy all new books with cd’s. This will be a great addition to our classroom!

Leave a Reply

