Recycling food waste or composting

Food waste and food-soiled paper make up about 30% of a typical household’s waste (I think it’s easily 50% for me). I live in a city where garbage fees are determined by the size of your trash can. I already have the smallest trash can, so food recycling is of no cost savings for me. But recycling, reducing and reusing are important to me, so I started recycling my food waste.

Luckily, Seattle makes recycling easy. I can add food waste to my yard waste can. In my kitchen I have a food scraps bucket and I pile in fruit and vegetable scraps, coffee grinds, egg shells, citrus peels, tea bags, meat, cheese, bones, and napkins. When it’s full I just take the bucket and dump the contents into my yard waste can outside. Super simple!

If your city doesn’t have a food waste recycling program, you can compost your food waste in a variety of ways. You still have the food scraps bucket inside, but the final resting place will differ – a compost bin, a worm bin, compost pile, or a hole in the earth. 

To minimize the mess of collecting food scraps, consider lining your pail with newspaper, a paper bag, or a Biobag

biobag1

Composting organic materials saves space in our landfills. In Seattle, my yard waste (and food scraps) are taken to Cedar Grove Composting facility where they’re turned into compost. Since I started recyling my food waste, I’ve been able to reduce my trash to one bag every other week (a 50% reduction). How low can you go? See how little waste you and your family can create.

Compost guide
HowtoCompost.org

One thought on “Recycling food waste or composting

Leave a Reply

