Bee a locavore

What was once made up, is now for real. Locavore was the 2007 Oxford American Dictionary word of the year. 

What’s a locavore?

Locavore: Someone who eats locally produced food.

I’ve been a flexitarian for some time, but Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life, No Impact Man, and Sleeping Naked is Green – all sparked my interest in sustainability and supporting local farms.

I found a great “How-To” to Eating Locally Guide on the Simple-Green-Frugal blog. This guide tells you how to find (and eat) locally produced food.

Did you know that most food travels 1500 miles from farm to plate? When you buy local food, transportation costs are minimal, your money stays in your community, less pesticides are used compared to large corporate farms, and the products taste great.  

Support local farms. It’s good to have food grown close to home.

Slow Food USA: Supporting Good, Clean and Fair Food

Local Harvest.org: Find farmers’ markets, family farms and CSAs in your area

3 Comments

Filed under Grocery shopping

3 responses to “Bee a locavore

  1. Carla

    I agree, theoretically, but find this extremely difficult to practice. I don’t live in wheat, oat, rice, barley or rye country. Does that mean no more grains? “Local” food for me would mean diets VERY heavy in beef and chicken — something I am not willing to do unless I it becomes a matter of eat mainly that or starve. And interestingly, I’ve been to some of our local Northeast Texas vegetable stands and bought tomatoes off the table, sitting beside the truly local peaches. But when I look around wondering how they got such early tomatoes, I find the boxes the owners are dipping out of — from California. Even if you think you are buying locally, you might not be.

    Still, it does make sense to not buy crazy-far away stuff if you don’t have to. But another part to this issue is that at the grocery store you have can’t even figure out where something is from, unless the manager has kindly labeled it for you.

    I suggest “What To Eat” by Marion Nestle as a well-balanced commentary on the state of our food supply for anyone who has never read it.

  2. Carla–I learned the hard way that not all farmer’s markets are the same! I try to shop at *certified* farmer’s markets these days, because they have requirements that standard markets don’t. Growers must accompany their products and they must sell only from their farms, etc. Most of the farmer’s markets in my city are certified, but there are several year-round, permanent farmer’s markets that aren’t. They sell plastic crap from China, no less!

    Also, I don’t think we need to be perfect locavores. Like everything else, we just have to do what we can.

    I’m a member of Slow Food and I love it. Slow Food frequently cites the Nestle book that Carla notes. Slow Food has great resources and social events. And they even promote supporting small farmers that may not be in your region. From my research, supporting non-industrial ag (aka small, sustainable farms) is more important than trying to find all your grub locally.

  3. Carla

    These are good ideas. It’s just that along with most of the citizens of this country, I have no access to “certified” farmers’ markets — in fact, I never heard the term until reading your answer just now. I live in the country, far away from a farmers’ market of any type and must rely on what I can get. I am coming to believe that city folks live in a different world from those of us in a more agrarian culture because you have totally different foods available.

    But as you say, one does what one can. And there are some local delicacies which I need to take advantage of when they are in season.

Leave a Reply

