Food waste: Slimy cucumber Part II

The stimulating story of food waste continues this week. Spurred by The Frugal Girl, I’ve been working to become conscious of my food waste by meticulously documenting my wasted food each week.

Last week I got a little carried away. I peeled a slimy cucumber and ate it with a ChimiChurri sauce from the farmer’s market. The cucumber was not super crisp, but was completely edible and I don’t recall a single burp (maybe cucumbers mellow with age?).  

This week I disconnected from the ‘Net in SLOw (San Louis Obispo), but I still managed to waste something.

foodwaste13

ChickenCooking mishap: Some overcooked chicken thighs that my kids wouldn’t eat (smart kids).  
PeachYucky: This peach was firm and tasteless. I saved it for a smoothie and the smoothie never happened.
CriscoToo much: I made two pies with Crisco this year and the rest expired. Anyone have a pie crust recipe that doesn’t use Crisco?

There are many eye-opening statistics on the cost of wasting food. This one is from LoveFoodHateWaste.com:

If we all stop wasting food that could have been eaten, the CO2 impact would be the equivalent of taking 1 in 5 cars off the road.

Wow, that’s a big impact. You can do your part by buying less and eating all that you buy.

How do you reduce your food waste? Share your wisdom in a Comment.

5 Comments

Filed under Food waste

5 responses to “Food waste: Slimy cucumber Part II

  1. Sounds like a good week. I hate that about peaches; some of them just stay rock hard and tasteless and kinda go mouldy before they ripen – must be storage before it gets to the shops I guess.

    I’m interested in the burpless cukes – did you cut the skin off? I was led to believe that it’s the skin that produces the aftertaste.

    I’m not sure what a pie crust is; is that pastry? I just use 1/2 fat to flour and a little water. Nothing else and it’s delicious.

  2. Mrs Green,

    Burpless cukes: First I let it sit in the fridge for 2 weeks (not sure if this part is required), then I skinned and seeded it.

    The best peaches I got this year came from the farmer’s market. They were heavy with a couple bruises – called a ‘picker’s bruise.’ This means they were picked when they were super ripe instead of ripening off the tree. Huge difference.

  3. I find that peaches are way too hit or miss unless they’re local. So many times they stay hard, or they get mushy and pasty instead of soft and juicy. I just don’t even bother buying them if I can’t get ones that have been grown close to where I live.

  4. Diane

    I stash leftovers for another meal, freeze small amounts of veges for soups, freeze casseroles in single servings for lunches. Soured milk is used for breads or buckwheat cakes. Freezing as much as possible reduces a lot of waste. (Milk can be frozen as well)

  5. ah, your opening about the slimy cucumber reminded me of the one I pulled from the crisper drawer and pitched today. It prompted me to unload everything and clean up that drawer. And make Chinese stir fry for supper, so now a complete inventory has been done and all precarious veggies have been trimmed, cut, washed, cooked, and eaten!

Leave a Reply

