Everyone is born creative

I’m reading a new book about creativity called Ignore Everybody by Hugh MacLeod.

Hugh MacLeod is a cartoonist who began doodling on the back of business cards in 1997. Many many doodles later, he published Ignore Everybody and continues to publish a great blog called gapingvoid.

So far my favorite chapter is #6:

#6 Everyone is born creative; everyone is given a box of crayons in kindergarten.

P8111465

So true! Too often I hear people say “I’m not creative,” but is that really true?

Everyone is born creative. However sometime between kindergarten and today, perhaps during the tumultuous time called adolescence, doubt creeps in and we may think we aren’t creative. Fear kicks in. Our comparative brain decides that what we created wasn’t as good as what Johnny created. Creativity stops.

I find myself doing this – stopping the creative process because I think that I’m not good at something. To combat this thought, I’ve been reading about creativity, writing a blog and dabbling in photography.

DSC_0022

We didn’t fear crayons in kindergarten, so why fear them now? 

Want to create something great?

  • Believe that you are creative
  • Follow your passion
  • Put in the hours

And don’t forget to grab your crayons.

#32 on Hugh’s list of creativity tips: Remain frugal. The less you can live on, the more chance your idea will succeed.

Living a frugal life makes it possible for you to follow your passion and create something great. So be frugal and create.

What do you create? Please leave a Comment.

believe

Cartoon by Hugh MacLeod
5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “Everyone is born creative

  1. My entire life I have had a passion to write. In my teenage yours I kept a daily journal detailing my life. Creatively I’ve worked on writing an autobiography, a screenplay and now I work obsessively on my Blog. Last night I actually began writing what I hope will turn into a published book (even if self-published) in order to complete one of my goals.

    I used to be pretty artistic but that has since fallen to the wayside. Maybe someday I will pick that hobby up again. For now my focus is on my writing.

    • judeshaw

      Steven, Just wanted to say that you are still artistic. Writing is art too. There are so many ways we can express ourselves creatively.
      Good luck with your book.

  2. Yes, children don’t have an inner critic looking over their shoulder yet!

    I like his take on remaining frugal as well. I think I always had a sense of that.

  3. Kris Nielsen

    I believe that children are trained out of being creative:
    http://atthechalkface.com/2013/02/10/fear-of-creativity/

  4. Michael Paul Goldenberg

    There’s a difference between saying, “I’m not artistic” and “I’m not creative.” I have no training in art (using the word to refer to drawing, sculpting, painting, etc.) and I’ve seen no evidence that I have much of a gift for other visual arts. That’s hardly the same as the much broader statement, one I would never make, that I’m not creative. I have well-developed verbal skills (oral and written), and a gift for making connections, analogies, metaphors, etc. My ability to synthesize, along with my training in diverse academic fileds in the humanities has served me enormously well in my current work (over the last 25 years or so) in math and math education.

    I have no way of knowing if the right set of circumstances earlier in my life might have revealed talents in the visual arts, but at this point, it hardly matters and only becomes relevant to the extent that I would like to draw mathematical models with a bit more panache. But we can’t all be Vi Hart nor need we be.

    Schooling, however, should not be focusing on narrowing what kids do or want to do early in life. There’s no need to close doors and quash interests for young children. However, the real world does have a habit of providing feedback, and I’m fairly sure that as we develop our critical faculties, it’s useful at some point to realize that we don’t belong on AMERICAN IDOL or the like. I’m not a gifted musician, but I still play guitar for my own amusement. I’m pretty much as good as can be expected given my lack of training and practice.

Leave a Reply

